Skip to main content
   

Citation Guides: Modern Language Association (MLA) Referencing Style: Referencing List

Overview

This guide provides some examples on how to document sources in MLA citation style. It is based on the 7th edition of the “MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers” published by Modern Language Association in 2009. 

To view how sources are cited in MLA style, you may click any of the tabs to know more.

Resources

Acknowledgement

  1. “MLA Formatting and Style Guide.” The OWL at Purdue.  
  2. Camosun College. “MLA Citation Style (7th Edition). Camosun College,  Web 25 August 2013.

Sources

Format

Printed:

Author Last Name, First name. "Title of Article.” Title of Journal. Volume number. Issue number, if available. (Year of publication): Page number(s).  Medium of publication.

Electronic:

Author Last Name, First name. (First author’s name appear in last name, first name format; subsequent author name appears in first name last name format). “Title of the Article.” Journal Title Volume (Year of publication): Page number. Database Name. Medium of publication. Date of access.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
In Online Database such as Academic One File, Business Source Complete Langhamer, Claire. “Love and Courtship in Mid-   Twentieth-Century England.” Historical Journal 50. 1(2007): 173-96. Academic Search Complete. Web. 10 June 2013. (Langhamer 189)
Grandin, Karl, Peter Jagers, and Sven Kullander. "Nuclear Energy." Ambio (2010): 26-30. JSTOR Life Sciences. Web. 15 July 2013. (Grandin, Jagers, and Kullander 28)
In a Scholarly Journal (Print) Williams, Linda. “Of Kisses and Ellipses: The Long Adolescence of American Movies.” Critical Inquiry 32. 2 (2006): 288-340. Print. (William 295)
Laing, Jennifer, and Warwick Frost. "How Green Was My Festival: Exploring Challenges And Opportunities Associated With Staging Green Events." International Journal of Hospitality Management 29. 2 (2010): 261-7. Print. (Laing, and Frost 263)
In a Magazine (Print) Kaplan, David A. “Corporate America’s No. 1 Gun for Hire.” Fortune 1 Nov. 2010: 81-95. Print. (Kaplan 82)
In a Magazine (Online) Pettifor, Eric. “Copyright Bill Gives Big Media Control.” Backofthebook.ca. Single Lane Media, 2 June 2010. Web. 10 June 2013. (Pettifor)
In a Magazine without Author “Where Angels No Longer Fear to Tread.” Economist 22 Mar. 2008: 89+. Print (“Where Angels No Longer Fear to Tread.”)
In a Newspaper (Print) Bruni, Frank. “The Gift of Siblings.” New Sunday Times 9 June 2013, Life & Times Family sec.: 5. Print. (Bruni 5)
Yip, Yoke Teng. “Wrath of Environmentalists.” Star 7 June 2013, Metro sec.:  2+. Print. (Yip 2)
In a Newspaper (Online) Schneider, Mary.  “Facebook Paparazzi.” Star Online. Star Publications (M) Bhd, 15 Apr. 2013. Web. 19 June 2013. (Schneider)

Format

1 Author:

Author Last Name, First name. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Medium of publication.

2 to 3 Authors:

Author Last Name, First name. (The first given name appears in last name, first name format; subsequent author names appear in first name last name format) Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Medium of publication.

With Editor:

Editors’ Last Names, First name. ed. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Medium of publication.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
One Author Harper, Christopher. The New Mass Media. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2002. Print. (Harper 26)
Two or Three Authors McMurray, Adela, R., Wayne Pace, and Don Scott. Research: a Common Sense Approach. Southbank: Thomson/Social Science Press, 2004. Print. (McMurray, Pace, and Scott 76)
Four or more Authors

Plag, Ingo, et al. Introduction to English Linguistics. Berlin: Mouton, 2007. Print.

Or

Plag, Ingo, Maria Braun, Sabine Lappe, and Mareile Schramm. Introduction to English Linguistics. Berlin: Mouton, 2007. Print.

(Plag et al. 203)

Or

(Plag, Braun, Lappe and Schramm 203)

With Editor Shell, Marc, ed. American Babel: Literatures of the United States from Abnaki to Zuni. Cambridge: Harvard UP, 2002. Print. (Shell 69)
Anderson, Danny, and Jill S. Kuhnheims, eds. Cultural Studies in the Curriculum: Teaching Latin America. New York: MLA, 2003. Anderson, and Kuhnheims 55)
Organization as Author (Corporate Author) National Research Council. Beyond Six Billion: Forecasting the World’s Population. Washington: Natl. Acad., 2000. Print.

(Natl. Research Council 15)

Abbreviate the name of a corporate author.

Malaysia, Ministry of Finance. Second Economic Stimulus Package. Putrajaya: Ministry of Finance, 2009. Print. (Malaysia, Ministry of Finance 34)
With Edition Baker, Nancy L., and Nancy Huling. A Research Guide for Undergraduate Students: English and American Literature. 6th ed. New York: MLA, 2006. Print. (Baker , and Huling 27)
Newcomb, Horace, ed. Television: The Critical View. 7th ed. New York: Oxford UP, 2007. Print. (Newcomb 91)
With Multivolume Work Sadie, Stanley, ed. The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 2nd ed. 29 vols. New York: Grove, 2001. Print. (Sadie 11: 50-61)
Write the volume number and page number in the in-text citation
Wellek, Rene. A History of Modern Criticism, 1750-1950. Vol. 5. New Haven: Yale UP, 1986. Print. (Wellek 112)
Write the page number only in the in-text citation
Without Author American Heritage Guide to Contemporary Usage and Style. Boston: Hougton, 2005. Print. (“American Heritage Guide”)
The Holy Bible. Wheaton: Crossway-Good News, 2003. Print. Eng. Standard Vers. (“The Bible”)
E-Book Connell, John. Medical Tourism. Cambridge: CABI, 2011. ebrary.  Web. 21 June 2013. (Connell 35)
Chapter in an Edited Book or Anthology Wang, Xuehua, and Zhilin Yang. “The Impact of Brand Credibility and Brand Personality on Purchase Intention: An Empirical Study in China.” International Marketing: Emerging Markets. Ed. Shaoming Fu and Huifen Fu. Bradford: Emerald, 2011. 137-53. Print. (Wang, and Yang  141)
Hanzlik. Josef. “Vengeance.” Trans. Ewald OsersInterference: The Story of Czechoslovakia in the Words of Its Writers. Comp. and ed. Peter Spafford. Cheltenham: New Clarion, 1992. 54. Print. (Hanzlik 54)

Format

Determine the kind of work you are citing (e.g. book, a sound recording, a photograph) and follow the relevant format. End the entry with the name of the digital format: PDF file; Microsoft Word file; JPEG file: MP3 file, XML file, etc.
If the file type cannot be identified, use the format -Digital file


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Digital files that exist independently from the Web or a published disc (e.g. pdf file stored in a PC, scanned image received as attachment, sound recording formatted for playing on a digital audio player) American Council on Learned Societies. Commission on Cyperinfrastructure for the Humanities and Social Sciences. Our Cultural Commonwealth. New York: ACLS, 2006. PDF file. (American Council on Learned Societies Commission on Cyperinfrastructure)
Beethoven, Ludwig van. Moonlight Sonata. Crownstar, 2006. MP3 file. (Beethoven)
Delano, Jack. At the Vermont State Fair. 1941. Lib. of Cong., Washington. JPEG file (Delano)

Format

Printed:

Author Last Name, First name. Title of Dissertation. (for doctoral) or MA thesis OR MS thesisName of Degree-granting University, Year of  Award.  Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Medium of publication.
(cite a published dissertation as a book)

Electronic:

Author Last Name, First name. “Title of Dissertation.”  Diss. (for doctoral) or MA thesis OR MS thesis. Name of Degree-granting University, Year of Award.  Title of the Database or Web site. Web. Date of access (Day, month and year)


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Unpublished Kane, Sonia. “Acts of Coercion: Father-Daughter Relationships and the Pressure to Confess in British Women’s Fiction, 1778-1814.” Diss. City U of New York, 2003. Print. (Kane 23)
Lim, Tse Siang. “14th Century Singapore: The Temasek Paradigm.” MA thesis. National U of Singapore, 2012. Print. (Lim 31)
Published Fullerton, Matilda. "Women’s Leadership in the Public Schools: Towards a Feminist Educational Leadership Model." Diss. Washington State Y, 2001. Ann Arbor: UMI, 2001. Print. (Fullerton 44)
On the Web Bown, Jennifer M. “Going solo: The Experience of Learning Russian in a Non-traditional Environment.” Diss. Ohio State U, 2004. OhioLINK. Web. 15 June 2013 (Bown)

Format

Writer’s Last name, First name. “Title of the message" (if any). Description of the message (e.g. Message to the author). Date of the message. Medium of delivery.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
E-mail Boyle, Anthony T. “Re: Utopia.” Message to Daniel J. Cahill. 21 June 1997. Email. (Boyle)
Harner, James L. Message to the author. 20 Aug. 2002. Email. (Harner)

Format

Printed:

If the author is available, give the author name first, otherwise, the “Title of Encyclopaedia Entry.” Title of Encyclopedia. Edition. Year of Publication. Medium of publication.

OR

“Title of dictionary entry.” abbreviation Def. appropriate designation (e.g. number, letter). Title of Dictionary. Edition. Year of Publication. Medium of publication.

Electronic:

If the author is available, give the author name first, otherwise, the “Title of Encyclopaedia Entry.” Title of Encyclopedia. Edition. Year of Publication. Medium of publication (Web). Date of access.

OR

Title of dictionary entry.” abbreviation Def. appropriate designation (e.g. number, letter). Title of Dictionary. Edition and publication date (if stated). website title. Publisher (if stated). Medium of publication. Date of access.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Encyclopaedia Entry 
(Print)
Allen, Anita L. “Privacy in Health Care.” Encyclopedia of Bioethics. Ed. Stephen G. Post. 3rd ed. Vol. 4. New York: Macmillan-Thomson, 2004. Print. (Allen 35)
“Japan.” The Encyclopedia Americana. 2004 ed. Print. (“Japan”)
Encyclopaedia Entry 
(Online)
“Willem de Kooning.” Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Academic Edition. Encyclopaedia Britannica Inc., 2013. Web. 20 June 2013. (“Willem de Kooning”)
Dictionary Definition (Print) “Noon.” Def. 4b. The Oxford English Dictionary. 2nd ed. 1992. Print. (“Noon,” def. 4b)
Dictionary Definition  (Online no Author) “Aporia.” Def. 2. Oxford Dictionaries. Oxford University Press. Web. 20 June 2013. (“Aporia”)

Format

Printed:

If the writer of the document is unknown, cite the government agency that issued it as author.

Electronic:

Include corporate authors’ name in the text of essay.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Print with Corporate Author Malaysia, Ministry of Finance. Second Economic Stimulus Package. Putrajaya: Ministry of Finance, 2009. Print. The Malaysia Ministry of Finance provides financial support for every student who wants to pursue Masters and PhD courses (12).
Online with Corporate Author Malaysia, Ministry of Finance. Second Economic Stimulus Package. Putrajaya: Ministry of Finance, Mar. 2009. Web. 20 June 2013.  The Malaysia Ministry of Finance provides financial support for every who wants student want to pursue Masters and PhD courses.

Format

Printed:

Creator’s last name, First name. Work of art. The date of creation. Medium of composition. The institution where the work is housed, Name of the city where the institution or collection is located.

Electronic:

Creator’s last name, First name. Title. The date of creation. Name of Museum or Current Location, City. Database Name. Web. Day Month Year of Access.

OR

Creator’s last name, First name. Work of art. The date of creation. The institution where the work is housed. Title of the database or Web site. Medium of publication consulted (Web). Date of access (day, month and year).


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Photography, Painting or Sculpture
(Original)
Bearden, Romare. The Train. 1974. Photogravure and aquatint. Museum of Mod. Art, New York. (Bearden)
Perutz, Dolly Hellman. Bird Flying Machine. 1973. Bronze. Central Park, New York. (Perutz)
Evans, Walker. Penny Picture Display. 1936. Photograph. Museum of Mod. Art, New York. (Evans)
Photography, Painting or Sculpture
(Reproduction)
Heckman, Albert. Windblown Trees. N.d. Lithograph on paper. Private collection. (Heckman)
Da Vinci, Leonardo. Mona Lisa. 1503-1506. Louvre, Paris. The Fictional Journals of Leonardo Da Vinci. Ed. Vincent Lescaroff. Oxford: Oxford UP, 2001. 183. Print. (Da Vinci 183)
Eakins, Thomas. Spinning. 1881. Private collection. Thomas Eakins. Ed. Darrel Sewell. Philadelphia: Philadelphia Museum of Art in assn. with Yale UP, 2001. Plate 91. Print. (Eakins Plate 91)
Photography, Painting or Sculpture
(Retrieved from Subscribed Database)
Hopper, Edward. House by the Railroad. 1925. Museum of Mod. Art, New York. ARTstor. Web. 9 Feb. 2008. (Hopper)
Visual Arts on the Web. Currin, John. Blond Angel. 2001. Indianapolis Museum of Art. IMA: It’s My Art. Web. 9 May 2007. (Currin)

Format

Published or Broadcast:

Name of the person interviewed (Last name, First name). “Title of the interview.” Add the appropriate bibliographic information. Medium of publication.

Conducted by the Researcher:

Name of the person interviewed (Last name, First name). the kind of interview (Personal interview, Telephone interview), and the date.

On the Web:

If no date of publication is available, use n.d.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Published or Broadcast (with Interview Title) Blanchett, Cate. “In Character with: Cate Blanchett.” Notes on a Scandal. Dir. Richard Eyre. Fox Searchlight, 2006. DVD.

(Blanchette)

Cite the name of the person interviewed, not the interviewer in in-text citation.

Published or Broadcast (without Interview Title) Gordimer, Nadine. Interview. New York Times 10 Oct. 1991, late ed.: C25. Print. (Gordimer, C25)
Published or Broadcast (Name of Interviewer Included) Breslin, Jimmy. Interview by Neal Conan. Talk of the Nation. Natl. Public Radio. WBUR, Boston, 26 Mar. 2002. Radio.

(Breslin)

Wiesel, Elie. Interview by Ted Koppel. Nightline. ABC. WABD, New York, 18 Apr. 2002. Television. (Wiesel)
Conducted by the Researcher Pei, I. M. Personal interview. 22 July 1993. (Pei)
Reed, Ishmael. Telephone interview. 10 Dec. 2007. (Reed)
On the Web Antin, David. Interview by Charles Bernstein. Dalkey Archive Press. Dalkey Archive P, n.d. Web. 21 Aug. 2007. (Antin)

Format

Give the speaker’s name (Last name, First name). “Title of the presentation" (if known). The meeting and the sponsoring organization (if applicable). The location. The date. Form of delivery (Address, Lecture, Keynote speech, Reading).


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Lecture, Speech, Address or Reading Tallamy, Douglas. “Bringing Nature Home.” Edwards Charitable Foundation. Toronto Botanical Garden. 27 Oct. 2010. Lecture. (Tallamy)
Alter, Robert, and Marilynne Robbinson. “The Psalms: A Reading and Conversation.” 92nd Street Y, New York. 17 Dec. 2007. Address. (Alter)

Format

Printed:

Follow the format for an article or book but add the descriptive label (Map, Chart).

Electronic:

“Map Title.” Decriptive label (Map). Place of publication. Publisher, Publication Date. Medium (Web). Date of Access.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Map or Chart Michigan. Map. Chicago: Rand, 2000. Print 
(A map published as a single item)
(“Michigan”)
“North and Central America.” Map. DK Compact World Atlas. London: Dorling Kindersley Publishing, 2003. 12-3. Print.  
(A map found in a published book)
(“North and Central America”)
On the Web “Subang Jaya, Selangor.” Map. Google Maps. Google, 23 July 2010. Web. 23 July 2010. (“Subang Jaya, Selangor”)

Format

Entire Blog:

Cite a blog as you would an entire website.

If the publisher or sponsor of the site is not available, use N.p for no publisher.

Entry or comment in a blog:

Cite an entry or a response to an entry as you would an internal webpage in a website. If the entry or comment has no title, enter Weblog entry or Web comment.

Facebook:

Author Last Name, First name. if known (Screen Name, if known). “Title of Posted Work or Generic Label Such as Comment." "Title of the Entire Facebook Page, if not Previously Given." Author or Editor of the Page, if known and not previously  given. Facebook. Facebook, Day Month Year of Posted Work. Web. Day Month Year Accessed.

If there is no title on the post, use a few words of the post itself, in quotation marks.

Twitter:

Begin with author’s real name and, in parentheses, Twitter handle, if both are known and they differ. If only the user name is known, give it alone. Next provide the entire text of the tweet in quotation marks, without changing the capitalization. Conclude the entry with the date and time of the message and the medium of publication (Tweet).


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Entire Blog (Web blog) Akin, David. David Akin’s On the Hill. N.p., 18 June 2013. Web. 21 June 2013. (Akin)
Entry or comment in a blog (Web blog) Paikin, Steve. “A Brilliant Debate.” The Agenda. TVOntario. 29 Nov. 2010. Web. 21 June 2013. (Paikin)
Johan. Web comment. The Agenda. TVOntario, 8 Dec. 2010. Web. 15 Dec. 2010. (Johan)
Facebook Post Morrison, Toni. “Nobel laureate Morrison on race in contemporary America.” 7 Oct 2012, 9.23 a.m. Facebook. Facebook. Web. 16 Nov 2012 (Morrison)
Doe, Jane. "Summer Day." "Shakespeare Insights."  Ed. James Lewis. Facebook. Facebook, 1 May 2011. Web. 15 Apr. 2011. (Doe)
Howes, Miranda (Dog Walk Happy). "It is refreshing to hear this coming from a vet." Facebook. Facebook, 20 Apr. 2013. Web. 25 Apr. 2013. (Howes)
Hannah, Kristin. "Tour." Facebook. Facebook, 9 Apr. 2013. Web. 15 Apr. 2013. (Hannah)
Twitter Obama, Barack (BarackObama). "Finished meeting on the Hill. 4 hours before the big vote, reps are fired up and ready to go. Add your voice: http://bit.ly/3AEkDz." 7 Nov. 2009, 11:52 a.m. Tweet.  (Obama)
Athar, Sohaib (ReallyVirtual). “Helicopter hovering above Abbottabad at 1AM (is a rare event).” 1 May 2011, 3:58 p.m. Tweet.

Sohaib Athar noted that the presence of a helicopter at that hour was “a rare event.”


Or


The presence of a helicopter at that hour was “a rare event” (Athar).

Format

Sound Recording

Composer, conductor, ensemble, or performer (Last name, First name). Title of the recordings or titles of the works included, The artist or artists (when distinct from a first-listed person or group), manufacturer, Year or issue (if the year is unknown, write n.d). Indicate the medium after the date of publication ( Audiocassette, Audiotape, CD (for compact disc), or LP (long-playing record).

Specific Song

Place title of song within quotation marks.

Spoken-word Recording

Begin with the Speaker, the writer or the production director. If relevant add the date of the work’s original publication after the title.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Sound Recording Ellington, Duke, cond. First Carnegie Hall Concert. Duke Ellington Orch. Rec. 23 Jan. 1943. Prestige, 1977. LP. (Ellington)
Holiday, Billie. The Essence of Billie Holiday. Columbia, 1991. CD. (Holiday)
Specific Song Holiday, Billie. “God Bless the Child.” Rec. 9 May 1941. The Essence of Billie Holiday. Columbia, 1991. CD. (Holiday)
Spoken-word Recording Hermann, Edward, narrr. John Adams. By David McCullough. Simon, 2001. Audiocassette. (Hermann)
Neruda, Pablo. “Arte Poetica.” The Caedmon Poetry Collection: A Century of Poets Reading Their Work. Harper, 2000. CD. (Neruda)

Format

Television or Radio Broadcast

Title of the Episode. Title of Programme or Series. Name of the network. Call letters and city of the local station, Broadcast date. Medium of reception (e.g. Radio, Television). 

Information on who narrated the series follows after the series name.

Online

Title of the Episode. Title of Programme or Series. Name of the network. Call letters and city of the local station, Broadcast date. Web. Date of Access.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Television or Radio Broadcast “Frederick Douglass.” Civil War Journal. Narr. Danny Glover. Dir. Craig Haffner. Arts and Entertainment Network, 6 April. 1993. Television. (“Frederick Douglass”)
“The Phantom of Corleone.” Narr. Steve Kroft. Sixty Minutes. CBS. WCBS, New York, 10 Dec. 2006. Television. (“The Phantom of Corleone”)
“Death and Society.” Narr. Joanne Silbner. Weekend Edition Sunday. Natl. Public Radio. WUWM. Milwaukee, 25 Jan. 1998. Radio. “Death and Society.” Narr. Joanne Silbner. Weekend Edition Sunday. Natl. Public Radio. WUWM. Milwaukee, 25 Jan. 1998. Radio.
Welles, Orson, dir. “The War of the Worlds.” By H. G. Wells. Adapt. Howard Koch. Mercury Theatre on the Air. CBS Radio. WCBS, New York, 30 Oct. 1938. Radio (Welles)
On the Web “Six Charged in Alleged N.J. Terror Plot.” WNBC.com. WNBC, 8 May 2007. Web. 9 May 2007. (“Six Charged in Alleged N.J. Terror Plot”)

Format

Films:

Title. Director (Dir.). The lead actors (Perf.) or narrator (Narr.). Distributor, the year of release. Medium of publication (Film).

If you are citing the contribution of a particular individual, begin with that person’s name.

DVD’s and Videocassettes:

Title. Director (Dir.). The lead actors (Perf.) or narrator (Narr.). Original release date. Distributor, Year of release of DVD. Medium of recording (DVD, Film or videocassette).

Online:

(if  available). "Posting Title." Name of Site. Version number. Name of institution/organization affiliated with  the site (sponsor or publisher), date of  resource creation (if available). Web. Date of access.


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Films It’s a Wonderful Life. Dir. Frank Capra. Perf. James Stewart, Donna Reed, Lionel Barrymore, and Thomas Mitchell. RKO, 1946. Film (“It’s a Wonderful Life)
Chaplin, Charles, dir. Modern Times. Perf. Chaplin and Paulette Goddard. United Artists, 1936. Film. (Chaplin)
DVD’s and Videocassettes It’s a Wonderful Life. Dir. Frank Capra. Perf. James Stewart, Donna Reed, Lionel Barrymore, and Thomas Mitchell. 1946. Republic, 2001, DVD. (“It’s a Wonderful Life”)
Online Murphy, Beth. “Tips for a Good Profile Piece.” YouTube. YouTube, 7 Sept. 2008. Web. 21 June 2013. (Murphy)

Format

Web Page/Website:

Author, editor, compiler or corporate author (Last name, First name). "Title of internal webpage or short work“ Title of the entire website. Publisher or sponsor of the website (Use N. p. if none), Date of publication or last updated date on page (use n.d. if none). Medium of publication (Web). Date you accessed the source


Source Type Reference List Examples In-text Citation
Web Page with Author Quade, Alex. “Elite Team Rescues Troops behind Enemy Lines.” CNN.com. Cable News Network, 19 Mar. 2007. Web. 20 June 2013 (Quade)
Web Page without Author “Utah Mine Rescue Funeral.” CNN.com. Cable News Network, 21 Aug. 2007. Web. 21 Aug. 2007. (“Utah Mine Rescue Funeral”)
Web Page with Organization or Corporation as an Author Enbridge Northern Gateway Pipelines. “Marine Assessment and Our First Response Plan.” Enbridge Northern Gateway Project. Enbridge Inc., n.d. Web. 20 June 2013

Enbridge Northern Gateway Pipelines aims to develop "a comprehensive, world-class marine safety program."

Or


(“Enbridge Northern”)

Website with Author Peterson, Susan Lynn. The Life of Martin Luther. Susan Lynn Peterson, 2002. Web. 24 Jan. 2006. (Peterson)
Website without Author Canadian Country Atlas Digital Project. Rare Books and Special Collections Div., McGill U, June 2003. Web. 6 Aug. 2010. (“Canadian Country Atlas”)
Website with Corporate Author Canadian Library Association. Canadian Library Association. CLA. 2010. Web. 14 Sept. 2010.

The Canadian Library Association serves "as the national voice of the Canadian library and information community."


Or


(Can. Lib. Assoc,)

List entries in alphabetical order by the author’s last name, using letter –by- letter. If the author’s name is not known, alphabetize by the title, ignoring the initials A, An, or The or the equivalent in another language.
If there are two or more works by the same author, give the name in the first entry only. For each subsequent entry by the same author, use three hyphens and a period.

Indent the second and subsequent lines of citations by 0.5 inches to create a hanging indent.


Allen, Anita L. “Privacy in Health Care.” Encyclopedia of Bioethics. Ed. Stephen G. Post. 3rd ed. 
           Vol. 4. New York: Macmillan-Thomson, 2004. Print.


It’s a Wonderful Life. Dir. Frank Capra. Perf. James Stewart, Donna Reed, Lionel Barrymore, and 
           Thomas Mitchell. RKO, 1946. Film


Jomo K . S. "Bringing The South Back In: Some Thoughts On Academic Publishing." Inter-Asia 
          Cultural Studies 8.3 (2007): 449-453. Academic Search Complete. Web. 6 Sept. 2013


---. "Rethinking Economic Discrimination." American Economic Review 93.2 (2003): 338-342. 
          Business Source Complete. Web. 6 Sept. 2013.


Jomo K. S, and Chong Hui Wee. "The Political Economy Of Malaysian Federalism: Economic 
          Development, Public Policy And Conflict Containment." Journal of International 
          Development 15.4 (2003): 441-456. Business Source Complete. Web. 6 Sept. 2013.

Loading

Web Library Guide No. 23

Document No. WL/023

Issue 1

7 October 2016

Questions and Feedback: email to library@sunway.sunway.edu.my or Call 03-74918622 ext. 7050.
Copyright © Sunway Campus Library 2016. A member of the Sunway Education Group