Skip to main content
   

How to Find: Reference Resources: Home

Introduction

This guide shows a list of Reference Resources links. 

Resources

  1. Famous Firsts
  2. Guinness World Records
  3. Infoplease.com -This site includes contents of the Information Please Almanacs, a biography database, a dictionary, an atlas and articles from the Columbia Encyclopedia.
  4. World Factbook - Central Intelligence Agency -Includes: "Maps, Geography, People, Government, Economy, Communications etc."
  1. Biographical Dictionary - Facts on 28,000 people.
  2. Dictionary of Art Historians: a Biographical Dictionary of Historians, Museum Directors and Scholars of Art - Lee Sorensen, Duke University Libraries. The database is searchable by name, methodology and country of origin.

General

  1. Dictionary (OneLook Dictionaries): find meanings and translations of words.
  2. Language Dictionaries (Awesome Library) -Dictionaries for some the more commonly used languages.
  3. Translate into another Language
  4. Merriam-Webster  - Dictionary and thesaurus in one.
  5. Dictionaries and Translators
  6. Slang Dictionary
  7. Thesaurus.com

Subject Dictionaries

  1. BioTech's life sciences
  2. AlphaDictionary.com - Free Economics Dictionary
  3. Engineering dictionary - EngNet Ltd Multimedia Dictionary (Text & Images).
  4. Etymology Dictionary -- "Etymologies are not definitions; they're explanations of what our words meant and how they sounded 600 or 2,000 years ago.
  5. FOLDOC-The Free Online Dictionary of Computing--over 12,000 extensively hyperlinked terms in computer science.
  6. Medical Dictionary (Medline Plus).
  7. Webopedia – Online dictionary for computer and internet terms.
  8. Voltaire's Philosophical Dictionary
  1. College and University Rankings - Links to many sources of ranckings.
  2. Infobel - telephone directories from all over the world.
  3. Yellow pages (Malaysia) - telephone directory providing information of commercial establishments, residential homes, government departments and embassies.
  4. The Malaysian Bar - telephone directories of courts, AG's Chambers and legal aid centres.
  5. eGuide - A business directory for the Asia region.
  6. Malaysia Central - Local Seach Engines, Portals, Directories & Guides.

General

  1. Credo – Access provided to Sunway Campus Library users. 
  2. Encyclopedia (Encyclopedia.com) -Provides information by search engine or alphabetical order.
  3. Encyclopedia Britannica –Access provided to Sunway Campus Library users.
  4. Searchgateway Encyclopedia - Provides over a dozen "encyclopedia" search engines.
  5. Wikipedia (Wikipedia.org) - Anyone can contribute to this encyclopedia. Verify before using information from this source.

Subject Encyclopedias

  1. Eric Weisstein's world of science. Multimedia Encyclopedia/Dictionaries (Text & Images).
  2. Encyclopedia of Psychology -- over 2000 links from people & history, careers, theories and much more. From Jacksonville State.
  3. Medical Encyclopedia
  4. Merck Manual
  1. Digital Dissertations (Last two years searchable).
Loading

Help

If you have problems with any of the resources, or require more information, contact the following library staff:

1. Help Desk Tel: 74918622 ext. 7050/7051

2. Reference Division Tel: 74918622 ext.7054/7055/7056

3. Service Counter Tel: 74918622 ext. 7073

4. E-mail:library@sunway.edu.my

Web Library Guide No. 63

Document No. WL/063

Issue 1

17 August 2017

Questions and Feedback: email to library@sunway.sunway.edu.my or Call 03-74918622 ext. 7050.
Copyright © Sunway Campus Library 2016. A member of the Sunway Education Group